skip to Main Content

The Jackson County Planning Commission (JCPC) has several responsibilities mandated by the Michigan Planning Enabling Act (P.A. 33 of 2008), the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act (P.A. 110 of 2006), and the Jackson County Board of Commissioners. Duties include reviews and recommendations on township zoning ordinance amendments, community land use and master plans, and farmland and open space preservation agreements. The JCPC also maintains the Jackson Community Comprehensive Plan.

Membership and Staffing

The JCPC is made up of nine members appointed by the Jackson County Board of Commissioners. Members include representatives of agricultural, educational, environmental, and industrial and economic interests, a County Commissioner and several at-large representatives.

  • Mr. Eric Beda, Industrial and Economic Interests (Secretary)
  • Mr. Timothy Burns, At-Large
  • Mr. Roger Gaede, Environmental Interests
  • Ms. Pat Gallagher, At-Large
  • Ms. Nancy Hawley, At-Large (Chair)
  • Mr. Ted Hilleary, Educational Interests
  • Mr. Russ Jennings, At-Large
  • Mr. Jim Videto, Agricultural Interests
  • Mr. Corey Kennedy, County Board of Commissioners

The JCPC is staffed by Grant Bauman, Region 2 Planning Commission Principal Planner.

Urban Areas

2021 JCPC Meeting & Submittal Deadline Schedules

Meeting Dates

Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021 (cancelled)

Thursday, April 8, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021

Thursday, July 8, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021

Thursday, October 14, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021

Submittal Deadlines

Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Wednesday, February 3, 2021
Wednesday, March 3, 2021

Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Wednesday, June 2, 2021

Wednesday, June 30, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021
Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021

The monthly meeting of the Jackson County Planning Commission is scheduled for 6:00 pm in the Commission Chambers on the 5th Floor of the Jackson County Tower Building (120 W. Michigan Avenue Jackson, Michigan).

When a meeting takes place remotely via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the login information is provided in the agenda packet.

In order for staff to review zoning proposals and prepared reports for County Planning Commissioners in a timely manner, requests must be submitted by 12:00 noon on the submittal dates in order to be considered by the Commission on the corresponding meeting date.

R2PC Staff Responsibilities

The principal responsibilities of staff are to provide the JCPC with recommendations on zoning amendments; background information on PA 116 farmland agreement applications; and the preparation of meeting minutes and agendas.

Floodplains

Jackson County Master Plan (Under Development)

The Jackson County Planning Commission (JCPC) is currently developing its first Master Plan which will aid in its review of township zoning ordinance amendments (i.e., text amendments and rezonings) and municipal master plans and to make recommendations on those requests. ‘Click’ on the button below to see the webpage established for the planning effort. You will find draft chapters and appendices, as well associated maps, available for download and review.

Other JCPC Documents and Resources

‘Click’ on the buttons below to download and review available JCPC documents and resources.

Back To Top