

Serving Hillsdale, Jackson & Lenawee Counties

MEETING MINUTES

Region 2 Planning Commission - Full Commission Lenawee District Library 4459 W. U.S. 223 Adrian, MI 49221

Thursday, January 12, 2023

I. Call to Order – Chair Jancek called the meeting to order at 2:02 PM. A quorum was present.

Attendance:

Dillon ✓ Jancek (E) Schlecte (E)	✓	Acker Adams Andrews Bair (E) Beach Beecher Beeker (E) Blythe Boggs Bolton Bush Bussell Camacho Chamberlain Collins Cornish Cousino Cure Cure David	\(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2} \) \(\frac{1}{2}	Donaldson (E) Duckham (E) Elwell (E) Everidge Gaede (E) Gallagher, D. Gentner Goetz (E) Gould, J. Gould, L. (E) Greene (E) Greenleaf Griffin Gross Havican (E) Hawkins Hawley Heath Herlein Horwath	✓	Jennings Kastel Keener Keller Koehn Lammers Lance Linnabary Mackinder Miller Mitchell Minnick, Jr. Montrief Navarro Nickel Overton (E) Penrose Pixley Root Saenz	\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \	Shaw Shotwell (E) Sigers (E) Smith (E) Snell Southworth (E) Sutherland Swartzlander (E) Teriaco Tillotson (E) Todd Van Doren Votzke Webb Weir Wiley Williams Wilson Witt (E) Wittenbach (E)
			✓	Horwath Jancek (E)		Saenz Schlecte (E)	✓	Wittenbach (E)

Key: \checkmark = present (E) = Executive Committee member

Staff Present: Jacob Hurt and Jill Liogghio

Others Present: Roger Johnson, Deerfield Township; Joaquin Ramos, A3; Cara Snyder, A3; Frank Nagle, Director of Community Impact, Michigan for ProMedica.

- **II. Approval of the January 12, 2023 Agenda** The motion was made by Comm. Duckham, supported by Comm. Tillotson, to approve the January 12, 2023 agenda as presented. The motion carried unanimously.
- **III. Public Comment** Chair Jancek requested public comment. Andy Penrose, City of Jonesville, introduced himself.
- IV. Approval of the Full Commission Meeting Minutes for September 8, 2022 The motion was made by Comm. Bair, supported by Comm. Tillotson, to approve the Full Commission meeting minutes of September 8, 2022 as submitted. The motion carried unanimously.
- V. Approval of the Action Taken at the October 13, 2022 Executive Committee Meeting The motion was made by Comm. Snell, supported by Comm. Swartzlander, to approve the action taken at the October 13, 2022 Executive Committee meeting. The motion carried unanimously.
- VI. Receipt of Treasurer's Report of December 31, 2022 A motion was made by Comm. Duckham, and supported by Comm. Snell, to receive the December 31, 2022 Treasurer's Report as presented. The motion carried unanimously.
- VII. Approval of January 12, 2023 Submitted Bills A motion was made by Comm. Bair, supported by Comm. Swartzlander, to approve payment of the January 12, 2023 submitted bills. The motion carried unanimously.
- VIII. Staff Progress Report for December 2022 The December 2022 staff progress report was included in the agenda packet. Mr. Hurt presented highlights from the staff progress report for the month of December.
- IX. Report of the Nominating Committee / Election of the 2023 Executive Committee Mr. Hurt reported that there were 5 vacancies on the Executive Committee 1 representing the City of Jackson and 4 representing at-large. Motion was made by Comm. Duckham, supported by Comm. Snell. The motion carried unanimously. The 2023 Executive Committee members are as follows:

Alan Beeker	Representing City of Hillsdale
James Shotwell	Representing Jackson County
Phil Duckham	Representing Jackson County
Mike Overton	Representing Jackson County
Matt Swartzlander	Representing Jackson County
Tony Bair	Representing Jackson County
Jonathan Greene	Representing City of Jackson
Laura Schlecte	Representing City of Jackson
Jim Goetz	Representing Lenawee County
Ralph Tillotson	Representing Lenawee County
Dale Witt	Representing Lenawee County
Pete Jancek	Representing At Large
Larry Gould	Representing At Large
David Elwell	Representing At Large
Roger Gaede	Representing At Large
Rick Sigers	Representing At Large
Chris Wittenbach	Representing At Large

Diane Donaldson	Representing At Large
Joanne Havican	Representing At Large
Jason Smith	Representing At Large
Judy Southworth	Representing At Large

- X. Presentation by Frank Nagle, Director of Community Impact, Michigan for Pro-Medica, regarding Adrian Ebeid Neighborhood Promise.
- **XI.** Other Business Mr. Hurt explained that included in the packet was an update on the Jackson Railroad Bridge. Additionally, Mr. Hurt mentioned that included in the packet was the meeting calendar for the 2023 Region 2 Planning Commission.
- XII. Public Comment / Commissioners' Comments No comments were made.
- **XIV. Adjournment** There being no further business, Chair Jancek adjourned the meeting at 2:45 p.m.

Jacob Hurt Executive Director